The Overview

Icon

A view, a different view

Nothing exists;
Even if something exists, nothing can be known about it;
Even if something could be known about it, knowledge about it can’t be communicated to others.

– Gorgias (485-375 BC)

Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.

– Epicurus (341-270 BC)

You will never be happy if you continue to search for what happiness consists of. You will never live if you are looking for the meaning of life.

– Albert Camus (1913-1960)

Be that self which one truly is.

– Soren Kierkegaard (1813-1855)

I found these quotes, among others, while surfing the net, and I find it most intriguing how people’s views on everything from gods, the universe to their own lives differ.  I selected the above 3 quotes and pasted them here since they are the ones that best reflect my own personal views, and even though I have these conceptions, I understand that they may very well change over the course of time, and I may adopt different views, even contradictory – as I have before – , or even become fanatical in defending the ones that I already have.

I also am amazed at how much these kind of views affect our lives daily. Although people, from what I have seen, do not really talk about or even realize that they have certain conceptions about life, philosophical in their nature and most likely specific to individuals, they are the main factors that rule over our lives.

We do things or don’t do them, according to our own philosophical code. I say philosophical and not moral because the moral code that each of us uses is based on a philosophical view on what moral is or isn’t. So actually we are not acting towards a better good, or a common cause, or to be moral. No. We are all philosophers acting out their own philosophy, seeing and experimenting which one suits us best. And after we come to one that suits us, we do our best to shove it down the throat of others.

Filed under: Life and Death, Nothing in a nutshell, Of Mice and Men, , , ,

Leave a comment